We find the Mexicans to be generally nice people who speak calmly, politely and quietly. They aren't like the Italians, for instance, who always sound like they're heatedly arguing with each other, even when they are talking about something innocuous like the weather. But what the Mexicans lack in noisy dialog they make up for with their fondness for loud music and all things fiesta. Right now the Carnaval (Mardis Gras) pre-Lent festivities are going on in Chapala, including an extremely loud concert last night at the park down the street which continued well into the wee hours, making for a restless night for us. We wouldn't begrudge the locals their celebrations, but if this continues on a nightly basis through the 21st (Fat Tuesday) we are going to be needing more than our normal share of afternoon siestas to compensate.
Latin Americans in general do seem to have a high tolerance for noise, be it traffic, barking dogs, crowing chickens, or their neighbor's music. Some of the shop owners in town are under the impression that blaring loud music from their storefronts will magically draw in customers, rather than repel them as it does in our case. And then there are the vendors selling anything from gas bottles to water to produce who cruise up and down the streets announcing their wares through loud speakers, which sometimes consist of giant speakers strapped to the roof of their vehicle. I'm just assuming because it is all in indecipherable Spanish, but I think some of the noisy drive-bys are touting political candidates or parties. I guess if they are loud and annoying enough they must be worth voting for.
And then there are the fireworks. They can go off at any time, any place, for seemingly any reason. They can be used to announce the location of a party, or to culminate a celebration, or just because someone feels a pressing need to make some explosive noise. Living close to Fort Lewis back home I'm somewhat used to such random acts of auditory violence, but I can't say I understand the appeal. It's probably not so bad for all the elderly gringos here who can simply turn off their hearing aids. Otherwise, I guess you just have to be Mexican.
No comments:
Post a Comment